FR  -  EN  -  DE  
   
History of the Parc des Maurettes (Created in 1950)
1 Place, 1 Man, 1 Idea
In the heart of the Riviera, the opening in 1950 of a professional camp site at Villeneuve Loubet Plage (Alpes Maritimes) was the result of an unwavering confidence in the future. The founder, Guy Monferran (20 years old in September 1945), backpacked his way across Europe, via Austria, Denmark, Sweden and of course France. In 1948, when he was looking to camp between Nice and Juan-les-Pins, he noted that there was nowhere organised.

The following year, true to his convictions, he left his home town (Puteaux near Paris) to live outdoors and create a place where Europeans could meet together. By October 1949, his exploration had taken him to the hamlet of "Les Maurettes" where the wooded part of an agricultural subdivision was considered to be unfit for crops, but which had the essential attributes: wooded, unfloodable, directly accessible, mains water nearby and sea view in parts. The purchase price was also affordable, and little wonder...
An ideal location
The gamble was risky: Guy knew, when buying the land, that the A8 motorway would cross the lower part of the plot within the next ten years! The spirit of adventure won the day. Around Easter 1950, the undergrowth had been cleared away in the first clearing to welcome the first campers, using only a handful of tools, some American army surplus material and a lot of elbow grease.

Season after season, the quality of the reception and the amenities was improved, ensuring a loyal and friendly clientele. The French camping and caravaning federation, the FFCC (Fédération Française de Camping Caravaning), granted the site the "Semaine de la plus belle France" Award in 1955. Trophies, although rewarding, were of little import and the true reward came in 1959 when the State decided that the motorway would run 800 m higher up the hills to avoid the swamps of the future Vaugrenier Departmental Park.
The future was open!
The gamble had paid off and it was now possible to develop high quality amenities to receive a wider clientele of caravanners and camper vanners who enjoyed the geographical location of the Parc des Maurettes. The environment also changed. Between the 1960s and 1980s, the transformation of the surrounding area accelerated: creation of an SNCF railway stop 300 yards away (for which the campsite fought successfully to obtain a safe passenger crossing), opening of a direct avenue from the campsite to the RN7 main road, shops and supermarkets set up nearby... In an area where the coastline looked set to be concrete forever, Guy transmitted to his son Yves the conviction that this haven of greenery and the friendly atmosphere shared by the loyal clientele should be preserved at all costs.
Objective Quality
Since 1978, Yves Monferran has been in charge and has participated very actively in setting up various amenities: modern transformation of the three sanitary blocks which are now heated during the winter, creation of a huge service station for camper vans, installation of bungalows, more comfortable layout of pitches (all of which are unique!), modern management techniques, trilingual receptionists... All of this has been possible while at the same time preciously maintaining a simplicity of contact, both for young people during the summer and for retired folks coming to spend a few weeks here during the winter.

In 2004, the choice was made to open a covered heated balneotherapy area which functions throughout the period during which the campsite is open. This relaxation area (fitted with a sauna, 3 Jacuzzis and a board games room with television) is better suited to the campsite's clientele than is the standard rectangular swimming pool or noisy bar. The Parc des Maurettes saw its approach rewarded in 2007 with the national "Camping Qualité" label, a brand of "Qualité Tourisme".
Hoping things continue in the same vein
Alongside these changes, David Monferran, the son of Yves, joined the team and brought his own point of view. The campsite communication and management turned more efficiently towards new technologies, in particular with the new website abounding in multimedia content (photographs and 360° panoramas). Because of the huge growth in administrative tasks, the support provided by David was a discreet but absolutely essential assistance in perpetuating the degree of professionalism which is necessary to provide quality campsite services. The Monferran family has for many years been involved in local associations revolving around open-air accommodation, the aim being to maintain a certain philosophy within the profession, a desire to satisfy campers.

To round off this history of the Parc des Maurettes, it is important also to extend our thanks to all those without whom none of this would have been possible. Thanks therefore go towards the employees, from those who have been with us for many years to the seasonal workers, from the cleaning staff to the receptionists, for having shared their skills in the service of our establishment And of course, many thanks go to YOU, whether you be regular visitors or just passing through! Thank you for having constantly provided us with your observations and your compliments, feeding into our desire to satisfy you!
 

May the adventure continue!

 
 
Photo gallery
PARC DES MAURETTES © 2009 - All rights reserved

FR  -  EN  -  DE  
   
Historique du Parc des Maurettes (Créé en1950)
1 Lieu, 1 Homme, 1 Idée
Au cœur de la Côte d’Azur, l’ouverture en 1950 d’un camping professionnel à Villeneuve Loubet plage (Alpes Maritimes) fut le fruit d’une confiance inébranlable en l’avenir. Le fondateur, Guy Monferran (20 ans en Septembre 1945), parcourt l’Europe, sac au dos, passant successivement par l’Autriche, le Danemark, la Suède et bien sûr la France. En 1948, lorsqu’il cherche à camper entre Nice et Juan-les-Pins, il constate l’absence d’espace d’accueil organisé.

L’année suivante, fidèle à ses convictions, il quitte sa ville natale (Puteaux en banlieue parisienne) pour venir vivre en plein air et créer un lieu où les Européens pourront se rencontrer. Dès octobre 1949, sa prospection le mène au lieu-dit « Les Maurettes » où la partie boisée d’un lotissement agricole est considérée comme incultivable, mais qui possède les atouts essentiels : boisée, non inondable, accessible directement, eau de ville à proximité et vue sur mer en partie. Le prix d’achat était aussi abordable, et pour cause…
Une situation idéale
Le pari était risqué : Guy sait dès l’achat que, dans les 10 ans, l’autoroute A8 doit passer sur la partie basse du terrain ! L’esprit d’aventure l’emporta. A Pâques 1950, la première clairière est débroussaillée pour accueillir les campeurs, avec pour tout matériel quelques outils, des surplus de l’armée américaine et beaucoup de courage.

Saison après Saison, la qualité d’accueil et les aménagements fonctionnels consolidèrent une clientèle fidèle et sympathique. La FFCC (Fédération Française de Camping Caravaning) offre alors en 1955 la coupe de la « Semaine de la plus belle France ». Les trophées, bien que gratifiants, importent peu et la véritable récompense intervient en 1959 lorsque l’Etat décide que l’autoroute passera 800 m plus haut dans la colline pour éviter les marécages du futur Parc Départemental de Vaugrenier.
L’avenir est ouvert !
Le pari étant gagné, il était dès lors possible de développer les aménagements grands conforts pour recevoir une clientèle de caravaniers et camping-caristes qui apprécient la situation géographique du Parc des Maurettes. L’environnement aussi évolua. Dans les années 60 à 80, la transformation des quartiers alentours s’accélère : création d’une Halte SNCF à 300 m (pour laquelle le camping milita activement afin d'obtenir un passage piéton sécuritaire), ouverture d’une avenue directe du camping à la RN7, installations de commerces et grandes surfaces… Face à un littoral voué au béton, Guy transmet à son fils Yves la conviction qu’il faut préserver cet écrin de verdure et l’ambiance conviviale partagée par une clientèle éprise des mêmes goûts.
Objectif Qualité
Depuis 1978, Yves Monferran gère donc les saisons et participe très activement aux divers aménagements: transformation moderne des trois blocs sanitaires chauffés en hiver, création d’une vaste station service pour camping-cars, installation de bungalows, agencement plus confortable des emplacements (tous uniques !), gestion moderne, secrétaires d’accueil trilingues… Et tout cela en conservant précieusement une simplicité de contact tant pour les jeunes en été que pour les retraités venant passer plusieurs semaines en hiver.

En 2004, le choix est fait d’ouvrir un espace balnéo couvert et chauffé , fonctionnant pendant toute la période d’ouverture. Ce cadre détente (équipé d’un sauna, de 3 jacuzzis et d’une salle de jeux de société avec télévision) correspond mieux au profil de la clientèle que l’habituelle piscine carrée ou le bar bruyant. Le Parc des Maurettes se distingue ainsi dans sa démarche jusqu’à obtenir en 2007 le label national « Camping Qualité », marque de « Qualité Tourisme ».
Que se poursuive cette action
En parallèle, David Monferran, fils de Yves, devint collaborateur et amène son point de vue. La communication et la gestion interne s’oriente plus efficacement vers les nouvelles technologies avec en particulier le nouveau site internet riche de contenus multimédia (photos et panoramiques à 360°). Face à l’importance croissante des tâches administratives, le soutien de David apporte une pierre discrète à l’édifice, mais indispensable pour perpétuer le professionnalisme nécessaire à l’accueil de qualité en camping. A ce titre, la famille Monferran est depuis longtemps impliquée dans la vie associative départementale liée à l’hôtellerie de plein-air afin d’y entretenir une certaine philosophie du métier, propre à satisfaire les campeurs.

Pour conclure cet historique du Parc des Maurettes, il convient de remercier également ceux sans qui rien n’aurait pu avoir lieu. Merci donc à tous les employés, des plus anciens aux saisonniers, des chargés d’entretien aux réceptionnistes, d’avoir partagé leurs compétences au service de l’établissement. Et bien sûr, un grand merci à VOUS, clients fidèles ou de passage ! Merci d’avoir nourri sans cesse par vos remarques et vos compliments notre envie de vous satisfaire !
 

Que l’aventure continue !

 
 
Galerie de photos
PARC DES MAURETTES © 2009 - Tous droits réservés